Memorial Day Memories: Dennis Earl Brown

Memorial Day Memories{A Blog Link-up}

Jesseca Wheaton challenged me (and all her followers, actually) to write a blog post about one of our fallen heroes. This blog linkup, Memorial Day Memories, is a great way to commemorate an unknown man or woman who died fighting to protect his or her country.

I decided to focus on PFC Dennis Earl Brown of the United States Marine Corps.

dennis earl brownMr. Brown died in the Vietnam on the 29th of July, 1967. He had just passed his twenty-first birthday seven days earlier. He was unmarried (and had never been married). His religion is listed as Protestant with no denomination specified.

I wasn’t able to find a lot about Mr. Brown as I’m not very good at researching things like this, and I admit I really let the ball drop as this last week has been hectic, leaving me little to no time to spend on library trips, etc.

However, I was able to find a lot of military records, something about where and how he died, his final resting place, and a few other things about him. But it’s not much, so bear with me.

Dennis E. Brown was born July 22nd, 1946. I wasn’t able to find out where or to whom. A simple trip to the library would probably give me a eulogy or at least something to go on, but I wasn’t able to.

I have a lot of questions about his personal life that will go unanswered. Did he have a sweetheart? Even a fiancée? What were his parents like? Did he have siblings? Who were his friends? What were his interests? What was he good at in school? Maybe someday I’ll find out some of these.

In 1966, he joined the US Marine Corps. At the time of his death, he was a Private First Class, a Rifleman.

dennis earl brown

He died in the Quang Tri Province of Vietnam, which is located on the North Central Coast. I wasn’t able to find a lot of details, but I do know he was killed in action due to small arms fire.

His body was recovered, and he was buried in the I.O.O.F. Cemetery in his hometown, The Dalles, Oregon.

dennisearlbrowngravestone

About six months after his death, in 1968, the Battle of Quang Tri was fought. I don’t know a lot about the Vietnam War, but I would assume that the Marines (and Dennis Earl Brown) were paving the way for the US Army to come in.

It is amazing that so many men and women have chosen to give up their life to preserve the freedom of their friends, family, and countrymen. I can’t say it any better than this writer from the Virtual Vietnam Veterans Wall site said it:

Dear PFC Dennis Earl Brown, sir

As an American, I would like to thank you for your service and for your sacrifice made on behalf of our wonderful country. The youth of today could gain much by learning of heroes such as yourself, men and women whose courage and heart can never be questioned.

May God allow you to read this, and may He allow me to someday shake your hand when I get to Heaven to personally thank you. {…}

With respect, and the best salute a civilian can muster for you, Sir
Curt Carter

Thanks for reading,

~Kellyn Roth~

Bloglovin’ · Pinterest · Facebook

p.s.

Do you know anyone who served? (My brother is in the Middle East now … it’s kinda surreal! But then it doesn’t matter as we’re not on speaking terms.) Do you find looking up dead people to be fun? (I found it interesting, creepily enough.)

Do you ever have weeks when you just don’t want to blog? I had one of those weeks, as evidenced by my complete abandonment of the schedule, my not really researching this post, etc. Forgive me, please?

Note: If anyone who knows about the United States Marines, the Vietnam war, or Dennis Earl Brown reads this post and finds a lot of inaccuracies, I’m sorry. Don’t be afraid to comment and correct me!
10 thoughts on “Memorial Day Memories: Dennis Earl Brown

  1. All these stories… *sniffs* So many amazing men who died for freedom. It just overwhelms me to think of all of it!
    I especially love that note that you got from the Vietnam Wall site. So true, so amazing. I really enjoyed getting to learn about Dennis. 🙂
    Thank you so much for joining in the link up! I’m so glad you wee able to do so! ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Kellyn, I haven’t been on your blog during my hiatus, it felt good to get back on my feet! I really liked this post. Searching up dead people? Hmmm. Everyone has hobbies I guess XD. I think this was a really cool thing to doing in honor of Memorial day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Very nice post!!! I actually do have family members who were in the army. Both of my grandfathers fought in Vietnam. And I mean I like to research people in general and sometimes they’re dead… so I guess that sort of counts…… (That makes me sound like a stalker, I just like looking up historical figures!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

