Guest Post – Cooking up a ‘Good’ Blurb + Ingredients for a blurb’s soul

I know I’m not supposed to post today (and I’m not, really), but I decided I had to reblog this guest post I wrote for Mahriya @ My Bookish Life.

It’s about writing blurbs, and it’s for the Typewriter Project. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

My Bookish Life

Blurbs are #1 reason to buy a book and apparently, they have souls.

And this guest post, by the lovely and fabulous Kellyn Roth @ Reveries tells you why blurbs are so important and how to take advantage of that lovely magnet that should pull your readers in. I am beyond excited for the Typewriter Project to officially begin and remember, the applications are now closed so I won’t be looking at any other contestants who enter now. You

Anyways,

let’s let Kellyn steal the spotlight (or skip to the first task)

and perhaps shine some light on book blurbs and how to write them.

A GOOD BLURB

Why do people read a book?

Some would say a great cover. Some would say amazing reviews. Some would say an eye-catching first chapter. All of these are probably important (to a certain extent). However, for me, the #1 reason to buy a book…

View original post 1,354 more words

2 thoughts on “Guest Post – Cooking up a ‘Good’ Blurb + Ingredients for a blurb’s soul

  1. Ah, that was really good! Writing the synopsis is always something I struggle with, and have often had to ask for help with. So your post was super helpful! 🙂 And you included the blurb for AQoH! *grins*

    And . . . I just realized by blurb for AQoC is around 300 words . . . so apparently it needs re-written. Or re-done. Or. . . something. ;P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad it was helpful. And yep, I was trying to think of a blurb I enjoyed, and that one popped up. 🙂

      That is a little lengthy, but if you feel like it’s not too much, well, leave it! Still, I think it’d be cool to have a shorter summary on hand. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

