Beautiful Books: Editing and Writing Goals

beautiful books

Hi guys! You remember Beautiful Books, right? Well, you should. I did the link-up for October … but not for November. Because I forgot. And was too busy writing an awesome novel. (*insert sarcastic laugh*)

Well, we’re back in January to do the final Beautiful Books before Cait and Sky return to Beautiful People. This month’s theme is ‘editing and goals.’

Now, because Beautiful People is a month late, I’ve decided to rebel and not answer these author interview-y questions.

Instead, Miss Claire Marie Chattoway of The Dressmaker’s Secret will be answering them for me. *nods*


  • What were your writing achievements last year?

You … you were serious? I actually have to answer these questions?

Of course I was serious! I’m always serious.

As when you seriously ruined my life?

Okay, you go me there. That was with evil laughter and much chocolate. Answer the question.

These questions are for you!

I know. That’s why I’m not answering them! *makes sense*

Very well. If it pleased you.

It pleases me very much.

*sighs* First, she published The Dressmaker’s Secret. Though it’s not a secret; it’s just nobody’s business but my own. There’s nothing wrong with my life; I’m not hiding anything.

Then why –

Shush. You’re making me do this; at least let me finish. She also wrote, edited, and published a novella, The Lady of the Vineyard, which is set in the future.

Actually, it’s set in 1938, but to you, it’s set in the future, yes.

She also wrote (and to some extent edited) the second book in The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy, Ivy Introspective, and she outlined and wrote the first draft of At Her Fingertips, The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy, Book 3. Then there were some poems, a couple short stories, and some random plotting … but I think that’s about all, isn’t it?

Yep!

  • What’s on your writerly “to-do list” for 2017?

Re-revising The Dressmaker’s Secret, editing Ivy Introspective, republishing The Dressmaker’s Secret and publishing Ivy Introspective, editing At Her Fingertips, writing Beyond Her Calling and Interpreting Calling James, finishing and editing Flowers (a short story), and working on some other random projects.

That … was surprisingly accurate.

I have to listen to you babble often enough. I should learn something from it, shouldn’t it?

Yes, yes. It’s just a little, y’know … creepy. XD

  • Tell us about your top-priority writing projects for this year!

She wrote a post about this Monday. Go read it.

  • How do you hope to improve as a writer? Where do you see yourself at the end of 2017?

I believe she sees herself as even more wonderful. Her ego is continent-sized.

Hahaha … true.

As far as where she sees herself, I don’t know.

That’s because I don’t, either. I have a lot of ideas, but nothing’s set for how life will look in retrospect after 2017’s over.

Nice plan.

Do you know where you’ll be in a year?

*raises eyebrows* No. But you do, I’m guessing?

Mmhmm. *evil laughter*

  • Describe your general editing process.

Basically, she beats all the horror out of the novel. It’s sometimes painful. Words are ripped from your mouth, landscapes change and reform and change again … sometimes our very being is in question.

Yeah … that.

  • On a scale of 1-10, how do you think this draft turned out?

What book are we talking about?

Hmm … At Her Fingertips.

You’d say ten, I know, but I give it a seven.

Not enough of you?

No. Too much pain to a person I love more than life.

  • What aspect of your draft needs the most work?

It needs some of the pain removed.

No, it doesn’t! Pain is good!

It most certainly is not!

It’s a learning experience for her. Come, surely you can’t deny your daughter a learning experience?

*sighs* I suppose not.

  • What do you like the most about your draft?

It’s rather clever sometimes.

SOMETIMES?!

All right, it’s a fairly decent story.

DECENT?!

You asked me for my opinion …

  • What are your plans for this novel once you finish editing? More edits? Finding beta readers? Querying? Self-publishing? Hiding it in a dark hole forever?

Beta-readers and then self-publishing in summer 2018, I believe.

  • What’s your top piece of advice for those just finished writing a first draft?

Don’t throw it away. Your characters, no matter how bad they are, are living on that draft! If you throw it away, they practically die.

Though for different reasons, that would be my advice, too. Don’t give up on yourself! You’re awesome! 🙂


Yes. Yes, I do realize that no one learned anything from that interview. XD

Before I go, I have an important announcement.

An Important Announcement

And yes. This one is actually important. Kinda.

thenewdiaryblogtour

I’m hosting a blog tour for my dear friend Hanna Kraft on my book blog, Reveries Reviews, to spotlight her book, historical/semi-biographical novel The New Diary.

One Summer Sunday in 1930, Carol Ayers decides to keep a diary. She records many life changes over the days, weeks, and months. Can Carol and her family accept, and even like the changes, and at the same time continue their traditions?

The New Diary, a fictional account, contains actual excerpts from the real diary of Carol Ayers, the author’s great-grandmother.

However, for a blog tour we need – you guessed it! – bloggers. Are you a blogger? Do you have time for a blog post on February 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th? If you answered “yes” to those two questions, I urge you to sign up using this form:

https://kellynroth.typeform.com/to/cMmxAu

Thanks and “happy” editing,

~Kellyn Roth

p.s. I’m considering less blog posts. I feel like I’m just dishing up the same old material for you to read over and over and over and over again … and it’s just not working. I can handle this many posts … but how about you? And aren’t they rather crackerish nowadays? Same old taste, no flavor … bland?

8 thoughts on “Beautiful Books: Editing and Writing Goals

  1. REBELLIOUS. I LIKE IT.
    About the posts, I remember in Hayley’s blogging series one thing really stuck with me. She talked about taking the time to write the most quality content because blogging is for you. So, if you can write posts a few times a week, or a few times a month, it’s fine (an exception for the important author-ly posts) as long as you’re happy. I personally don’t have a blogging schedule though I probably should, at least for posts I’ve already made.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Claire is rebellious. And all conventional. She’s conventionally rebellious. 😛
      My blogging schedule makes me very happy, but I just … you know. I don’t want to repeat the same old things over and over again … and yet I kinda feel like my categories for each day are pretty broad. So … I don’t know.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

