Beautiful Books, #1

beautiful books

I didn’t know about this because I … I just didn’t, but around this time every year, Sky and Cait take a break from Beautiful People and do Beautiful Books instead to celebrate NaNo.

I figure this is a good idea for me to do now, as I’ve been getting the basics of At Her Fingertips assembled in my head, starting the pre-outlining (what?! The more perfectionistic you are, the more outlining you need to do to even finish a terrible, horrible, no-good, very bad first draft!), etc.

After all, I’ve got tons and tons of little details … and sometimes it’s a good time just to take a step back and say, “Okay. We’ve examined every tree as thoroughly as any golden retriever. Time to take a step back and look at the forest. Like a border collie.” What? Border collies are scientifically proven big-picture thinkers! Okay, I just made that up …

So … here are the questions. 🙂


ahfdesign

  • What inspired the idea for your novel, and how long have you had the idea?

Mm … okay. This is always a hard question for me to answer. What?! Don’t give me that look! It is. I don’t know why, but whenever someone asks me this question, I stare at them blankly. And a lot of people ask me this question … though not about At Her Fingertips yet, I guess. 😉

I suppose I’ve just always wanted to write a story about Alice as a young adult. It’s been at the back of my head forever in one form or another (even if it was just some corny romance at one point … which hopefully it won’t be). A couple things took me by surprise (Kirk just appeared out of the blue!), but I’ve had the basic idea for three or four years now.

  • Describe what your novel is about!

It’s about the coming-out of an upper class young lady, Alice Knight. Of course, before she even comes out, she’s started her first romantic catastrophe, shall we say. She’s determined not to let it be a catastrophe, even if it’s headed that way … she’ll handle the situation with typical Alice bravado.

Not that the other party will cause any problems for her calm, orderly approach to emotions. Things don’t happen to ruin Alice’s plans.

  • What is your book’s aesthetic? Use words or photos or whatever you like!

Well, I have a Pinterest board for it here, but I haven’t really done much. I can’t really find pictures that represent what I’m envisioning in my head!

I know that was kind of a lame response – especially since I’ve already linked to my Pinterest board – but I don’t feel like going into it. 😄

  • Introduce us to each of your characters!

Okay, so … I’m gonna just run up to them and introduce you. And they’re all from the Victorian era. They’re gonna be a little shocked, but some will deal and some will … scorn, honestly.

So … I’m color-coding characters here so you can know who’s speaking. I’m only doing a few … there are lots of other characters (I’m sorry …), but these are the ones I care to tell you about today. 😛

Alice

Ivy

Kirk

Mr. Knight

Mrs. Knight

Gibson

*grabs computer* *runs out of room and up to the character vault where my characters all hang together* *or ‘socialize,’ as they might say*

Hey, guys! Whut up?

Very dignified, aren’t you?

I’m … actually your author. Who can kill you. Or destroy people you care about, anyway, since you’re kinda my protagonist. So … yep. Try to be nice.

Fine. *grins* You’ve brought them *nods at audience* to meet me?

Don’t be silly, Miss Conceited! I brought them to meet y’all. So, everyone, this is Alice. Alice, everyone.

*attempts a curtsey* *just manages to stay on her feet* *clears throat* I’m glad to meet you.

And this is Ivy, Alice’s twin sister.

*doesn’t even look up*

Ivy … Ivy … Ivy!

*glances up … then back to her book*

Anyway, that’s Ivy. And this is Kirk. ❤

*glances away from Alice for, like, 0.000001 seconds* *back to Alice*

*clears throat loudly*

Oh, hello! I … didn’t see that … large crowd of people. You have a lot of followers, now, don’t you, Miss Roth?

Ooh, such a flatterer!

Actually, I was just –

Yep, I know. Being charming.

No, I –

Because you want me to change the ending, right? Well, that’s not happening.

I wouldn’t dream –

Why don’t you let him finish his sentences?

You just interrupted me!

That’s my right as your dearest friend.

Oh, so I’m your “dearest” friend.

No. Yes. Well … at Pearlbelle.

And you still want to go to London?

Of course! Why wouldn’t I?

I … I just thought … after our discussion the other night …

WHAT?!?!? WHY HAVE I NOT BEEN A PART OF THIS??? YOU’VE BEEN TALKING BEHIND MY BACK BEFORE WE EVEN START THE STORY??? That’s it! Back to your cubicles. Both of you.

Why?

You’ll understand when you’re a little older. Like, in a couple months, post-Gibson.

Not to be negative, Lacy, but I think our narrator has bats in the belfry.

*giggles*

Okay, you two. That’s enough! Pick-on-the-author-time is over.

*both wander off in different directions*

Now it’s time to introduce you to Mr. and Mrs. Knight, Alice’s parents. (Did I mention that there are spoilers to TDS here?) *walks to another portion of the character vault* Phil! Molly!

I thought I told you I didn’t want to be called that?

I can call you whatever I want. Now, this is Mr. Knight and this is Mrs. Knight. Phil and Molly, these are my guests for today. Treat them kindly, please. Your daughter was a bit rude.

Oh, dear.

Well, not that rude … but you know Alice. Anyway, anything to say? … because these people really want to get to know you.

I never know what to say when you do this to me.

Perhaps, “I don’t have a story to be in until November; leave me alone”?

Actually, we’re in Ivy Introspective.

Mmhmm, but we’ve got to prep for NaNo, guys!

I need a little clarification here. Am I thirty-six or thirty right now?

Um … wow. That’s … really deep, Molly.

Not really. You’re the one who just said I’m in multiple novels set in different years all at once.

It could be worse. She could start writing that one … what do you call it, Miss Roth? The one in the world where our grandchildren are?

It’s not a different world.

Well, it’s the future. And we’d be old.

Not very old. We could very well have grandchildren next year.

I wish you’d stop saying that.

Why?

It’s terrifying!

I have to agree with Phil on that one. It is scary! I’m so excited to write it, though. And, trust me, Gretchen is gonna be amazing.

NO MORE SPOILERS!!! Especially about my own life … I shouldn’t know that.

Well, because I’m sorely tempted to give spoilers, I’ll leave you. I just have one more character to talk to. *walks off* GIBSON!!! OH GIBSON!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hello? Yes?

I have some people who want to meet you.

Whom?

If their names aren’t prefixed with a title, will you turn your nose up?

I couldn’t tell you. How do the women look and how rich are the men?

I quite honestly don’t know.

Call again when you know.

*sighs* All right. Well. That’s it for today, people.

  • How do you prepare to write?

Sometimes I just sit down and start … other times (like this time) I outline a ton, research some, prepare random scenes in my mind, etc. Most of the time I’m constantly dreaming about my characters. Sometimes I’ll even act scenes out a bit … yeah. 😄 I tend to forget people in the room and start waltzing and talking to myself or something like that … not that it happens very often, but still …

  • What are you most looking forward to about this novel?

Writing a grownup (or partially) Alice! I’m so nervous, and yet I can hardly wait! She’s gonna be so much fun to write.

  • List 3 things about your novel’s setting.

London – Victorian – Upper Class

Haha, so lazy …

  • What’s your character’s goal and who (or what) stands in the way?

Alice’s goal is to marry [richly]. Her own emotions and scruples stand in the way of that goal.

  • How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?

She becomes more mature and her belief in God is strengthened in more ways than one. She also learns to trust her instincts (especially if they say, “Back away from the creepy guy who keeps looking like Thomas from Downton Abbey in your author’s head …”)

  • What are your book’s themes? How do you want readers to feel when the story is over?

I’m bad at determining themes. I suppose something like faith, family, trust, love, humility, or unselfishness … those are just random words, though. I’ll have to see how it turns out. Some things you just can’t plan ahead of time (although K.M. Wieland says you can, so who knows).

As far as how I want readers to feel when the story is over … hmm. I suppose I want them to want more, obviously … but I also want them to be content with where Alice and all the other characters (well, most of them, anyway) end up.


What do you think, guys? Fun? Boring? Any questions/comments?

~Kellyn Roth

11 thoughts on “Beautiful Books, #1

  1. Kellyn, you make me laugh. And I also like Mr. Knight. I must say, your preparing for a novel sounds just the way I prepare to write. Currently I have one character in my head, and somehow I fit into the picture(and talk to him :P)… even though nobody like me is in this story of mine! Writing is such a weird hobby, and yet, so much fun!

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you! I remember this post was so much fun to write. I worry sometimes that my humor is too much … it kinda pushes the bounds of outrageousness. But most comedians do. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

