FNWC, Challenge #4

Time for the 4th challenge of FNWC, a writing challenge by Rutvi. TEAM EMERALD IS SO GONNA CATCH UP! πŸ˜€

Ok, so as you know I’ve been having problems fitting the challenges in with historical fiction. But I refuse not to! What? Why should I write one of my other genres when I’m having so much fun with Ruby? Even if I’m not supposed to be writing about her until I finish writing about her ancestors (did I just say that out loud? πŸ˜› ).

Anyways, so … historical inaccuracies are to be ignored. And … this is kind of random. So hang with me.

The Prompts

(note: some prompts have mysteriously disappeared!)


 

FNWC, Challenge #4

Gem pressed her nose against the windowpane and watched the snow flutter down on the yard.

“I don’t like tomorrow,” she commented.

No one was listening.

“What I mean is, I don’t want tomorrow to happen.”

Still, no one heard her.

“Mamma? If it snows more, can we cancel tomorrow?”

Finally, someone answered her question! “Darling, even if it snows so much that we can’t make it to the church (which I doubt), Gracie will be getting married,” Mrs. Farjon replied.

Gem frowned. Life wasn’t fair. Big sisters should take their little sisters into consideration. No ‘gaining a son’ could erase the simpleΒ fact that Gracie would be moving to New York – of all places! – and not coming back to her home to Virginia … probably never ever.

“It’s not gonna be so bad,” Cora, one of Gem’s other sisters, commented.

“Oh, it isn’t, is it?” Gracie demanded, tossing a pillow across the room. She sat on a sofa in the corner of the living room, braiding Louise’s hair … maybe for the last time, Gem reflected.

Ellie entered the room then, accidently intercepting the pillow with her head. “Ouch! What was that for?”

“Oh, golly! Sorry, Ellie!” Gracie exclaimed before bursting into giggles. She’s been more giggly of late, Gem noted.

“That’s okay, I guess,” Ellie said, raising her eyebrows. She sat down next to Cora. “I imagine that was aimed at you?”

“Yes. Brides have no respect for their bridesmaids of late, it seems,” Cora proclaimed.

“Brides didn’t even want their annoying little sister to be their bridesmaids. Brides wanted Ellie, but she backed out on Brides,” Gracie complained.

“Well, Ellie is no longer a ‘maid,’ and who wants a bridesmatron?” said Ellie laughingly.

“You could have been the … matron of honor.”

“It makes more sense, though, for Gwen to be the maid of honor. You’re closer in age to her than me.”

“Of course, we don’t know that Gwen will even get here in time,” Cora commented.

“Or Daddy!” Louise added.

“They’ll be here,” Mrs. Farjon assured her children.

“Of course they will,” said Jerry, speaking for the first time. He, the only son who was a: awake and b: not a baby, tended to move to the corners when his sisters congregated.

There were a few moments of silence before Mrs. Farjon spoke again. “Gem, it’s time for bed.”

“You said I could stay up until Daddy and Gwen get here!” Gem protested.

“Yes, but the train must be late … or perhaps they didn’t catch it.”

“Pleeeeeeease, Mamma? I know you start talking about important stuff as soon as I go to bed! Pleeeeeeeeeeeeeease let me stay up!”

Mrs. Farjon sighed. “You can stay up a bit longer, then.”

Gwen walked across the room to Gracie and sat down next to her. “Tell me a story?”

“Gem, don’t bother your sister.”

“No, it’s all right, Mamma. Gem’s right; I should tell her a story,” Gracie agreed, always soft-hearted. “What about, Gem?”

“One of those funny ones about the stuck-up English people.”

“Now, hold it a minute! That’s not fair to Aunt Gretchen or Grandma!” Ellie protested.

“I’m sure they wouldn’t mind. Besides,” Mrs. Farjon lowered her voice, “They’re not here right now.”

A few of the girls giggled, and they all moved to sit closer to Gracie.

“Once upon a time,” said Gracie, looping an arm around Gem, “There was a young lady of the very highest of classes who lived in England.”

“In Kent?” Gem suggested.

“Sure. Why not? She lived in Kent. Her name was … Gem.”

“No, it wasn’t!” Gem exclaimed.

“Then what was it, m’Lady Gem?”

“Lilly.”

“Anyway, Lilly was walking slowly through her gardens one beautiful autumn afternoon -“

“This isn’t any good. There’s no snooty rich people yet.”

“You know, we’re rich people,” Ellie commented.

“But we’re not snooty,” said Cora.

“Oh, very well,” said Ellie.

“… when she met a fairy.”

“Gracie, will you stop changing to fantasy?”

“Gem likes fantasy.”

“Gem specifically asked for a story about a snooty rich person. So -“

“Shh,” said Gem.

“Of course, Lady Lilly had met this fairy before. His name was -“

He is a fairy?”

“Yes. There are boy fairies, you know. His name was … Xavier. Xavier Yeoman.” Gracie grinned wickedly at Cora.

Are we still on that?” Cora demanded.

“We always will be,” said Gracie. “Now, today Xavier had something special to show Lilly.”

“Although this has nothing to do with the story you’re supposed to be telling, what was it?”

“A flower. A magic flower. And the conversation they had went something like this:

“(Lilly) ‘So you’re telling me … this flower can read my mind?’

“(Xavier) ‘Yeah. Why? Is that so weird?’

“(Lilly)Β  ‘Actually, it’s not. I’ve met you, so …’

“(Xavier) ‘Wow, thanks.’

“Anyway, Lilly didn’t really believe Xavier. However, Xavier pressed the flower against his little pointed elf ear -“

“I thought you said he was a fairy.”

“Fairy, elf, to-may-to, to-mah-to …”

“Let’s call the whole thing off!”

“Shh! Anyway, he pressed the flower against his ear and said, ‘You’re thinking … about my girlfriend being trapped in a glass bottle so you can have me for yourself!’

“Of course, Lilly denied this, but that was exactly what she’d been thinking about. So they kept walking along together, and Lilly tried to think of a way to get that flower away from him.

“Now, Xavier was an underground fairy. That means he lived underground. He only came up sometimes, to chat with Lilly. So he knew very little about the natural environment. Which means, Gem, he didn’t know much about … much.”

“Oh,” said Gem.

“Anyway, they were walking through a grove of brilliant orange and red trees (it was autumn, remember?), and Lilly said, ‘Xavier, you’re always telling me how smart you are … can you answer a simple question that even a five-year-old could answer for me?’ and Xavier said, ‘Sure,’ and Lilly said, ‘But you have to promise to give me the flower if you can’t answer!’ and Xavier said, ‘Sure’ and Lilly said, ‘Why are those trees all different colors?’

“Of course, Xavier, being an underground fairy, couldn’t answer. So he had to give the flower to Lilly. However, there was one problem. That flower was the key to … world peace. So … Xavier was really angry, obviously, for being tricked out of it. And so he decided he’d have to … kill Lilly to get the flower back.”

“Oh, my tacos. You have got to be kidding me.”

“Worst. Story. EVER!”

“Gracie, since when are you so morbid?”

“A little tension doesn’t hurt a story!” Gracie exclaimed. “Where was I?”

“Xavier’s going to kill Lilly,” Gem replied.

“That’s right. Because guys named ‘Xavier’ are evil,” Gracie said, grinning at Cora.

“Let’s not talk about that,” Cora protested.

“About what?” Gracie said innocently before continuing on with her story. “So, after Xavier threatened to kill Lilly, she ran to her mother, who was planning a tea party, obviously. Lilly ran up to her and said, ‘Mama! Mama! Xavier’s going to kill me!’

“(Mama) ‘There’sΒ a killer on the loose? Great, thanks for telling me. Can we go have our tea party now?’

“(Lilly, shocked at her mother’s disregard for the seriousness of the situation, even if she is English) I …’

“(Mama, reluctantly setting down the teapot) ‘Do you have any information? A name, a description?’

“(Lilly) ‘Uhhhhhh … his name is Rainbow.’

“Hoooooold it a minute! His name is Xavier, as you’ve so often pointed out!” Cora protested.

“Well, Xavier is a lame name for a fairy. I’m changing it,” said Gracie. “Anyway, the posted guards around the house and everyone went searching for the evil Rainbow! Eventually, Lilly decided it was no longer safe in Kent and ran to London where she became a … a … nun.”

“What?”

“Ok, then. A model.”

“That’s a little better,” Cora conceded.

“Though not very historically accurate,” Ellie added.

“Anyway, Lilly became a famous model. But one day, Rainbow caught up with her! She was … modeling, and there he was. With his six-guns blazing! ‘How did you find me?’ she screamed. ‘I … I saw you in a shampoo commercial,’ he replied. Thoroughly terrified, Lilly got out one word, ‘MOTHER!!!’ a call for protection from her dear old Mama, before she …Β ran away.”

“What?”

“Ran away. I was gonna say, ‘died,’ but then I realized who I was telling this story for and …” she glanced at Gem. “Oh. She’s asleep.”

“I’ll carry her up to her room,” said Mrs. Farjon. “No more morbid fairy tales while I’m gone, though,Β ok,Β kids?”

“Ok, Mamma,” they agreed in unison.


I’m sorry, guys. I just didn’t have time to think of something more clever this time! Hopefully next time I’ll be able to. πŸ™‚

Oh, and did anyone get the subtle link to TDS? Anyone who’s not one of my closest friends in real life? πŸ˜›

~Kellyn Roth

15 thoughts on “FNWC, Challenge #4

  1. Wow!!! πŸ˜€ That was SO GOOD!!! :O πŸ˜€ It looked fun to write! haha!! πŸ˜› Great job fitting in the prompts so well! πŸ™‚ I don’t think I can/could have done that! :O πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You hit the nail right on the hammer! I mean … well, you get the point! Yes, Ruby is Alice’s daughter … (she’s technically adopted, actually …) … and yep. Those kids are Alice’s grandchildren. πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay! Alice and Ivy are like my favorite historical fiction books
        no it is not because That is like the 3rd his fic book I’ve ever read
        They’re funny!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

