FNWC, Challenge #3

Hi guys!

That’s right. I’m still doing this! And you thought I quit. πŸ˜› Well, I didn’t. I’m still doing FNWC, hosted by Rutvi. Team Emerald, go!!!

Oh, and I’m so, soooo sorry for interrupting your weekend with a post! I know I promised not to anymore, but this is a deadline thing, guys, and I’ve been on vacay for two weeks, and … please forgive me? You don’t have to read it. Yes, you do. Just delete it from your inbox. Or ignore it on your reader. Don’t you dare!

Well, I’m a little behind, so let’s get going! πŸ˜‰

Le Prompts

[The images in this post have mysterious disappeared!]

024

Le Story

Upon reaching the top of the hill, Ruby collapsed. “You go on without me,” she panted. “I can’t make it. I’ll die right here. By myself. In the middle of the jungle. Surrounded by Japs. Not a friendly face in sight.”

“You’re not going to die, Ruby,” Margie repeated automatically. “And we’re perfectly safe here.”

“What does she know?” Ruby asked Flynn, who had set his pack on the ground and was looking for something.

“She’s a nurse?” Flynn suggested, hoping the RN would pick herself up and continue.

“Well, so I am. I know dehydration when you feel it. The fuzziness, the dryness, the hallucinations.”

“But you’re not hallucinating,” said Margie, tossing Ruby the canteen.

“Oh, yes I am!” Ruby protested, shoving the water source away. “Um … give me a moment.” She sat in silent pondering for about thirty seconds before she grinned. “Her ghostly beauty radiated, so powerful I could feel the sense of DEATH!”

“Excuse me?” Flynn asked.

“It’s nothing, Flynn. It’s just one of Ruby’s little jokes,” Margie said. “Ruby, I don’t think this is a good time for jokes. We really need to move on and fast.”

“You might have to be tough on me,” Ruby suggested.

“Oh, boy,” said Flynn.

Margie grinned. “How about this.” She reached into her pack and pulled out a small pad of paper. “You see this paper?”

“Uh, yes. You’re holding it an inch from my face.”

“It represents your life.”

“Uh … ok.”

She tore it in two.

“Mm-hmm. I’m not convinced.” Ruby rolled over and glanced at Flynn.

He swallowed.

“Did you eat my sandwich?” Ruby demanded, aghast.

Flynn’s eyes opened wide in faux horror. “Yeah. Why?”

“That was our last sandwich! Now we don’t have anything to eat!” Ruby mourned.

“Um … Ruby, I’m hungry.”

“You’re impossible, that’s what you are.” She glared at her two compatriots. “You’re not giving this situation the seriousness it deserves.”

“Ruby, there isn’t a situation, except for you refusing to move. Now, as you superior -!”

“Margie?”

“What?”

“You’re not my superior. I’m a first lieutenant now, too, remember?”

Margie sighed. “Why did they promote you again?”

“I was … brave or something.”

“Well, your bravery is interfering with our simple march to the top of that hill. Now move!”


What? My time was …Β limited.

~Kellyn Roth

23 thoughts on “FNWC, Challenge #3

  1. Um…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………That was crazy. You REALLY can’t write Flynn. And, by the way, what in the world are they doing there?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woah, that was…interesting. A little all over the place, but that could have just been because I read it really fast…? But the prompts were included pretty well, as usual for you. πŸ™‚ I feel like I’ve heard of some of these characters before, but then again, maybe not… I can never remember.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ve heard of Ruby before in the last two prompts … but probably not Flynn and Margie. They’re actually one of my friends’ characters … and I stole them. XD But, quite honestly, can she blame me?! Flynn and Margie are so much fun! πŸ˜€

      And … yeah, it was all over the place, but so is Ruby. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      1. Oh, okay. I thought Ruby was the same person but I wasn’t sure. And oh, haha, that is fun! I should steal someone else’s characters sometime…of course, I wouldn’t be able to write them but it would be fun.

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Yep. I told her it wasn’t Flynn; it was his evil twin. Then she asked why Margie (Flynn’s girlfriend … or wife by now, I guess) hadn’t noticed that, and I was like, “He drugged Margie” or something like that. πŸ˜‰

              Like

Leave a Reply

