FNWC, Challenge 1

 

Hi guys! Well, once again, I’ve entered a contest. However, this time it isn’t a photography contest; it’s a writing contest. It’s hosted by Rutvi (https://sosugarsweet.wordpress.com/).

Now, my writing is a little better than my photography … but I don’t expect to win because I can suck under pressure. ๐Ÿ˜„

Anyway, here’s my entry for the first FNWC (Fantasy Notebook: Writing Challenge).

So, I can include as many of the writing prompts (there are quite a few!) in my entry as I want. The following are the ones I chose to include (besides the word ’emerald’):

(Note: some of the prompt images have mysterious disappeared!)

The following story is set in the year 1941, just so y’all know. ๐Ÿ˜‰


Coming Home from School

โ€œThe End is sometimes only the beginning,โ€ Ruby said wisely. She tugged her coat closer about her. The December wind was sharp and angry, tugging at her auburn hair – curled for the last day of school – and her red dress.

โ€œAnd that,โ€ Truitt announced, โ€œMakes perfect sense.โ€

โ€œWell, it does, if you think about it! The end is just the start of โ€˜Happily Ever After,โ€™ you know,โ€ proclaimed our heroine. โ€œAnd perhaps the โ€˜Happily Ever Afterโ€™ wonโ€™t last โ€˜ever afterโ€™ and then youโ€™re stuck with another story to tell.โ€

โ€œNot all books have sequel.โ€

โ€œIโ€™m not talking about books! Iโ€™m talking about life.โ€

โ€œItโ€™s hard to tell the difference with you sometimes,โ€ Truitt said, elbowing her in the ribs. โ€œSo, whatโ€™s up with you for Christmas?โ€

โ€œMammaโ€™s taking me to New York.โ€

โ€œO-oh, thatโ€™s right. Sheโ€™s here to pick you up. Whatcha gonna do in New York?โ€

โ€œThereโ€™ll be this big party and Iโ€™ll have to attend,โ€ Ruby replied, twisting her emerald ring around her finger.

โ€œOh, one of those society things,โ€ Truitt said, side-stepping away from Ruby.

โ€œWhat?โ€ Ruby asked, glancing up at her companion. Two years older than her at eighteen, Truitt Sheveland – tanned, brown-haired and -eyed, the build of a jockey – had been one of her dearest friends since she moved to Louisville to stay with her aunt and uncle last September.

โ€œThis uppity Farjon stuff always bugs me.โ€

โ€œI know, I know. I feel like Iโ€™m living in Philadelphia Story sometimes, but itโ€™s not all bad. Trust me, Iโ€™m not like the people you read and hear about who have money. Iโ€™m nice.โ€

โ€œSo youโ€™re a human? Like, one hundred percent actual human? Iโ€™ve heard scary things about you guys,โ€ Truitt joked.

โ€œSure, Iโ€™m human. Mamma is too. And Dad โ€ฆ well, I have mixed feelings about Dad,โ€ Ruby said with a light laugh. โ€œStill, Iโ€™d much rather be in Virginia for Christmas. I want to go home.โ€

Truitt put on a voice that Ruby knew was meant to imitate some actor, though she couldnโ€™t quite put her finger on it. โ€œAnd I want to go to the moon. It ainโ€™t happening, sweetheart. Time to accept that.โ€

โ€œOh, you!โ€ Ruby said, aiming a kick in Truittโ€™s direction. He swerved aside.

โ€œEasy, my girl!โ€ he exclaimed.

โ€œDonโ€™t call me that,โ€ Ruby said.

โ€œWhy not?โ€

โ€œBecause thatโ€™s my motherโ€™s name. I donโ€™t like her.โ€

โ€œWhat? You were just talking about how wonderful she was last night!โ€

โ€œOk, maybe I like her. I just donโ€™t like being called her name.โ€

โ€œI thought her name was Ruby, too. You donโ€™t seem to mind being called โ€˜Ruby,โ€™ Ruby.โ€

โ€œNo, I donโ€™t. Just โ€˜my girlโ€™ โ€ฆ itโ€™s what my dad calls her.โ€

โ€œOh, ok. Point made. Letโ€™s talk about something else.โ€

โ€œLike what?โ€ Ruby kicked a pile of snow.

โ€œUm โ€ฆ er โ€ฆ Ruby E. Farjon, if you had a choice of how you were to die, what would you choose?โ€

โ€œHow morbid.โ€

โ€œNow, seriously. What would you choose? I think Iโ€™d pick something quick – shot in the head, maybe โ€ฆ if it were a certain kind of gun โ€ฆ but you?โ€

โ€œSomething really dramatic,โ€ Ruby laughed. โ€œLike โ€ฆ eaten by a lion.โ€

โ€œThatโ€™s not really dramatic.โ€

โ€œSunk in the river, then. Like the โ€ฆ the โ€ฆ that lady from the poem.โ€

โ€œYou were just talking about how ill-fated this is due to that โ€ฆ one girl. Jane or whatever.โ€

โ€œAnne, you mean? Anne of Green Gables?โ€

โ€œThat might be it.โ€

โ€œIโ€™m sure it was. Then โ€ฆ ok, how about this. Chained to a beach and drowned by the tide.โ€

โ€œI โ€ฆ suppose. Yes, that might work. Although how do you chain yourself to sand?โ€

โ€œWell โ€ฆ well โ€ฆ oh, you shut up. I donโ€™t like the way youโ€™ve decided to die. Pick a new one. Something interesting.โ€

โ€œShot in the back by a piano-playing sniper?โ€ Truitt suggested.

Ruby burst into a fit of giggles that nearly knocked her over. โ€œHow did you come up with that?โ€

โ€œIโ€™m a misunderstood genius.โ€

โ€œOk, then,โ€ Ruby replied, eyebrows raised. โ€œTell me about my foal. Howโ€™s he doing?โ€

โ€œGreat. I think I broke him yesterday.โ€

โ€œNot his spirit, though?โ€ Ruby asked anxiously.

โ€œYou know I havenโ€™t.โ€

โ€œGood.โ€

They stopped in front of Rubyโ€™s uncleโ€™s house.

โ€œCome in for some hot chocolate or whatever?โ€

โ€œNah, gotta get home. See you in January.โ€

โ€œOk. See you then.โ€

โ€œI will. Bye, Ruby.โ€

โ€œBye, Truitt.โ€


Well, what do you think?! ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, and sorry about the extra post. I had to get this out before the fifth, and, as you know, I won’t be around by then.

~Kellyn Roth

42 thoughts on “FNWC, Challenge 1

  1. Aww, I loved it!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job Kellyn!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚ I LOOOVE how you used ‘I broke him’! ๐Ÿ˜€ With breaking a horse! That’s SO clever!!!! :O ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚ Great job!!!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. ๐Ÿ˜› hehe!!! xD ๐Ÿ™‚ I wasn’t sure how I would use that one! *slaps forehead* and I love animals…especially horses! ๐Ÿ˜„ haha!!! I can’t remember, do you guys have horses? ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh. :/ Okay! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€ Yeah… I wouldn’t say we are either…buuuuut….we do have goats, a FEW cows, horses, dogs, chickens… yeah… ? ๐Ÿ˜› Haha!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ Dreams aren’t bad though! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜›

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Yep. I want to have closer to thirty cows when I grow up … I’ve even figured out which fields I want to keep the bull and steers in and which field I want to keep the cows, calves, and heifers in. Then I want horses, of course, and some chickens. And of course I’ll have tons of dogs … and a cat. Because nobody needs more than one cat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Oh cool! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ Hahaha!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s so neat! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Yeah…TONS of dogs! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll probably have a cat when I’m older too… ๐Ÿ˜• ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€ DOGS DOGS DOGS THOUGH! TONS OF DOGS! xD Haha!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜› And horses… yeah! ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜€

                Liked by 1 person

                  1. ๐Ÿ˜€ Haha! ๐Ÿ˜€ Yes! ๐Ÿ™‚ Well…yes for you..but I would have to have more than one! xD ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚ I would have my horse (if he was still alive..which he PROBABLY would be..?) and then another couple to raise foals out of! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜› And then dogs and dogs and more dogs! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ Hehe!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ™‚ How are Gidget’s puppies doing? ๐Ÿ™‚ Our pups seem to be doing alright! ๐Ÿ™‚ I named Aggie’s! ๐Ÿ™‚

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Wow, that’s great! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€ Are you happy with what homes they’re going to? I know that most of my puppies in the past at least, have gone to good homes… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜€

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Yes, I’m happy with the homes they’re going to. They’re a lab cross (accident litter … she didn’t mate with the dog we wanted her too :-/) and so they’re not probably as good work dogs as Gidget’s last litters … but they’re all going to good homes, anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. wait a sec…why am I telling YOU that??? I’m not on YOUR team!!! >:o ๐Ÿ˜„ ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe!!!! No, you still did…alright I suppose… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜› hehe!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was great! I like Truitt a lot. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Maybe you could write more of this and make it a romance (between Ruby and Truitt)

    CutePolarBear

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Um … what can I say? You’ve discovered by true intentions. This is an introductions to two characters, one of which is, um … well, Alice Chattoway/Knight’s grandchildren. ๐Ÿ˜„

      Like

      1. AHA! I see your thinly veiled ploy! (If I continue with ‘Always trying to get me to exercise!’ do you know what I’m quoting?) ๐Ÿ˜›

        CutePolarBear

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh, I like it a lot! You weaved in a lot of the prompts without it seeming too jarring, which is something that tends to happen if you’re just trying to add in as many prompts as possible. So good job with that. The characters seemed interesting, though the excerpt wasn’t quite long enough for us to get a complete idea of their personalities. If it’s meant to be a complete story (which I doubt it is, probably more of a scene, I’m guessing) it doesn’t really have much of a resolved ending, but that also causes me to want to read more about them. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Overall, you did an awesome job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, it’s just a scene. I should really work on more story-y entries in the future … but, eh, I’m not good at being brief and having a complete story! ๐Ÿ˜„ Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  5. I love your writing!! I especially liked the descriptive details you added, like at the beginning describing Ruby. Piano-playing sniper, LOL!! How did you come up with Ruby and Truitt?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Well … I created Truitt as a love-interest for Ruby. He’s been slowly evolving since I created her … that was … oh, at least 2 years ago! Ruby, I created as the daughter of another character who I created about 3 years ago. I think. At any rate, the story of how these guys became who they are today is soooooo long! They actually made me want to become a writer. I think I’m going to write a blog post about it someday, maybe. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

