Beautiful People #18: Childhood Edition

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_nHi Everyone! I know this is an off-day for a post, but I’m doing something I’ve never done before.

Post on a Thursday?

Who said that? No, that’s not it. I’ve posted on a Thursday before, I’m sure, before I started a schedule that is now being renovated. Today I’m doing Beautiful People!

Now, let me explain a little. It’s kind of like the Character Studies I’ve been doing these last couple months. It’s a set of questions posted monthly that authors can ask their characters. Find out more here.

Today I’ll be interview a character from The Lady of the Vineyard. I’ve been working on this historical/literary fiction novella when I’m supposed to be writing Ivy Introspective.

Meet Troy Kee, a 3o-year-old man from the 1930s. Note: I changed the questions around a little so they’re asked directly as the character instead of to the author about the character.


The Lady of the Vineyard

Don’t worry; this is definitely not the cover I’ll end up with!

 

What is your first childhood memory?

That’s a tough one! I mean, can anyone here really pin-point one memory which is their absolute first? I can’t. I remember bits and snippets at first, sentences, appearances, that kind of thing. I don’t remember a specific event. I remember living in our house in London … I remember my sister being there (not being born … I mean, come on, I was four) and being annoying … I remember my mother singing while she made breakfast, Dad reading the newspaper. Little things like that. Nothing specific.

What was your best and worst childhood experiences?

Ok. My worst was when my parents, you know, died when I was nine. That was pretty rough. Not to go on with a sob story that will only depress you, but Dad died during the War and Mother died of a flu (it was going around). But my parents owned a vineyard, and Lola (don’t laugh, and it’s short for Eloise … and she hates being called that but everyone does … call her that, I mean) and I was went to live there with Harrington. Harrington … I can’t really explain him. He’s a servant of sorts, but I don’t remember the last time he’s been paid, and he never does anything I don’t do, so … I don’t know what Harrington is. Just don’t ask; it confuses me.

My best memory was every moment before my parents died. It got pretty bad after that. But then it lightened up after a while. Sadness doesn’t last forever, of course.

What was your childhood home like?

First we had a crummy little house in London (not to be sentimental, but I still loved it). After the war, we went to live in a vineyard in the South of France. Charming little place. I still remember removing rats from the attic. But it’s been renovated since then.

What’s something that scared you as child?

HARRINGTON!!! (see a couple questions ^^)

Who did you look up to most?

Harrington. (again, ^^)

Favorite and least favorite childhood foods?

Icecream. Green beans. You figure out which is which.

If you had your childhood again, would you change anything?

I’d tell my dad to forget about the War; we win anyway. I’d tell my mother to stay at home where she belonged and not run around nursing people she didn’t even know. I’d tell Lola she’s an idiot (wait, I did that already!). I think that’s about it.

What kind of child were you? Curious? Wild? Quiet? Devious?

Mischievous would be the best word to describe me. I was always, always in trouble. And Lola was never in trouble! Never.

What was your relationship to your parents and siblings like?

Lola and I have you average sibling-rivalry-fueled relationship. My parents and I got along well, although, as I said before, they had to punish me a lot.

What did you want to be when you grew up, and what did you actually become?

I wanted to be a lion-tamer, a vagabond, a policeman, and a dragon. As-of-yet, I have been none of these things. I’ve had odd jobs around the beach. Now I work in real estate some, though I spend most of my time managing a vineyard. Oh, and I’ve decided that ‘father’ should definitely be among my jobs, too. This nonsense about Judy staying in London all the time has really gone along far enough.


 Well, what do you think of Troy? Is he a good character? Could you tell? Is his back story melodramatic? Too unbelievable? Would you read a book about him? Are you annoyed at me for posting on a day I shouldn’t be posting on? Would you like there to be less posts or more posts?

~Kellyn Roth

16 thoughts on “Beautiful People #18: Childhood Edition

  1. Troy sounds like a great and totally believable character! I’d like to know more about him, although I’m not sure that I’d read a book centered around him. But I usually don’t enjoy books with male MCs, so…. don’t take it personally, Troy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 😀 Okay! NEAT!!!!! 🙂 😀 Ooh, yay! Haha! Okay! 🙂 I’m not really an organized kind of person…so I post all the time… :/ 😉 Not a very good habit, I know. 😕 😛 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Beautiful People #19 & #20 | Reveries

  4. Pingback: Beautiful People #21 | Reveries

Leave a Reply

