The Coffee Book Tag

coffee book tag

Good afternoon everyone,

Poppy (Poppy’s Best of Books) tagged me for the Coffee Book Tag. I haven’t been nominated for a while … so this is exciting! Thanks, Poppy!

I’m also stealing her adorable banner. >> I have neither the time nor the energy at this point to make my own, and, honestly, am I going to do better than that? 😀

And now for the questions …

Black: A Series that is tough to get into, but has hardcore fans

Um … let me see. I suppose I’m going to have to go with the Keeper of the Lost Cities series by Shannon Messenger. Just not my thing … I don’t know why … but my friends are soooooo into it!

Peppermint Mocha: A book or series that get more popular during the winter/festive time of the year

I’m going to go with The Story of Holly and Ivy by Rumer Godden, illustrated by Barbara Cooney. There’s nothing more adorable than this picture book. If you haven’t read it, you should.

Hot Chocolate: A Favorite Children’s book

I love a lot of children’s books, but one of my absolute favorites is The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

Double-shot of Espresso: A book series that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to finish

The Hunger Games. Need I say more?

Star Bucks: A book you see everywhere

This one is hard for me, who rarely reads the popular books. I suppose I’m going to go with a classic, then. I see Pride and Prejudice everywhere. *shrugs*

The Hipster Coffee Shop: A book by an Indie Author (Shout-Out)

*changes Indie to self-published* What? There’s a subtle difference. Reveille by David B. Hunter. It was a nice, exciting, easy read and I really enjoyed it.

Oops! I accidentally got Decaf: A book you were expecting more from

The Magic Garden by Gene Stratton Porter. The ending was awful. So many things went wrong in it. It was miserably sad. It wasn’t very well-written. I adore Gene Stratton Porter’s novels … but this one just wasn’t up-t0-pace with her other books!

The Perfect Blend: a series that was both bitter and sweet but ultimately satisfying

Oh, I don’t know. Maybe The Edwardian Brides series by Carrie Turansky. I’ve only read the first two so far, but they’re wonderful!

Green Tea: a book or series that is quietly beautiful

The Bird in the Tree by Elizabeth Goudge matches the description perfectly.

Chai Tea: a book or series that makes you dream of far away places

Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne. Can you read this book and not want to go to India?

Earl Grey: a favorite classic

But … but … ALL my favorites are classics! And, as you readers know, picking a favorite book is like cutting out your heart still beating and placing it on an altar (am I in a bloodthirsty mood today or what?). It’s impossible! I can’t do it! I really can’t! How about I name three? Not three favorites (again, impossible!), just three random classics that I like. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, The Scarlet Letter (so far, anyway; I’m about 70% through) by Nathaniel Hawthorne, and Emma by Jane Austen.


Well, that’s all for today, folks! Oh, wait! The nominations!

For the Coffee Book Tag, I nominate …

If you’ve done it already, my sincerest apologies … I didn’t know.

~Kellyn Roth

16 thoughts on “The Coffee Book Tag

  1. Oooooooo I LOVED this post kell! 🙂 I really need to read the secret garden and…that other one,,ahem. 😉 did u like the Scarlett letter? I sat down 2 read it one day but….I dunno, I never got past the first sentence haha. And have u read wuthering hieghts???

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jules Verne painted a pretty vivid picture of India … and Jane Eyre will just always be a favorite of mine. It’s just such a good story! And the vocabulary … eesh! The first time I read it, I had to keep a dictionary at my side.

      Like

  2. Ooh, thanks! I think I’ll have to do a week where I just do blog tags since I have three or four that need to be done…hehe. Also, I just saw the musical of Jane Eyre a week or so ago, which was really great (I’ve also read the book), and I absolutely love The Secret Garden. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

