My Reading Schedule for June 2016

Book

Hi guys!

After a discussion with my mom (who thinks I read too many trashy Christian books … which in itself seems contradictory), I decided to read more classics. Which is not really a problem for me, as I enjoy classics for the most part.

Throughout the summer I’m going to read three classic books every month. During the school year, I won’t be able to keep this up … but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. 🙂

My classic books for June will be The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne, A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and (for a change of pace) Hard Times by Charles Dickens. Granted, A Study in Scarlet is more of a short story.

Other than that, I also intend to read 3 books off my to-read list on Goodreads (I’ve decided on The Refuge of Highland Hall, but I’m still up in the air on the other two … opinions would be appreciated!) and as many books from my review pile as I possibly can. So I have a busy reading schedule this month.

I’m not sure how this will reflect on the review posting schedule of this blog … we’ll see.

I know this is a short post, but short posts are good, right? Right?! 😀

~Kellyn Roth

25 thoughts on “My Reading Schedule for June 2016

  1. I agree, that is contradictory 🙂 Kellyn, you have great authors there! I’ve read other books by Charles Dickens and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, and they were great, especially by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I read so many classics when I was younger I lost count…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m looking forward to reading A Study in Scarlet. I’ve always wanted to read some Sherlock Holmes mysteries, because I’ve heard so much about them, watched movie remakes of them, watched Porky Pig and Daffy Duck make fun of them, etc. etc. 🙂

      Like

  2. Sounds cool! I haven’t read too many classics, but if you want suggestions for that next month, one of my favorites is Heidi by Johanna Spyri. If you haven’t read it already, of course… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

                  1. That’s true, I am working on it. With a lot of procrastination mixed in, of course…but still. And you need to work on Ivy Introspective (do you have a nickname for that, like II or something? It takes so long to write out…). If you don’t work on it soon I shall bury you in glitter. (It’s a very serious threat…glitter gets everywhere.)

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. IvIn. My sister (the author one) saw that scribbled at the top of my notebook and said, “You know, that’s not usually the way you spell Ivan …” And the glitter threat is hilarious just now because I have a character in a RP (on NaNo) who keeps fighting with another character and the other character keeps throwing glitter at him. (he has a secret crush on her, 😄 ) Hence the procrastination. But I have been working on IvIn, sorta. I’ve written, like, five pages in a notebook. 😛

                      Like

                    2. Oh hey, I remember IvIn now…haha, yeah, it’s not exactly Ivan.

                      Oooh, fun! Glitter always makes everything better (except when I’m threatening you with it, of course).

                      Well, at least some pages are better than nothing… I feel like I’m always bipolar in my comments. In one I’m telling someone to write and in the next I’m saying it’s okay if they don’t write. I don’t know…

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

