Interview with Rose Lawson

Today Iโ€™m going to be interviewing Rose Lawson, aspiring author and creator of Writing a World. ๐Ÿ™‚ You may also know her on YWP NaNoWriMo as Diz the Dizzy.

Glad to have you here, Rose! Now, for the first question:

What is your current writing project?

Currently I’m working on my Camp NaNoWriMo novel Selene of Doomsday which I’m not loving as much as I thought I would, but I have some other novel ideas but the plots are still very fuzzy for those ideas.

image

Can you tell us a little about Selene?

Selene starts out as an angry, tough teenager who lives on the street. She’s not very likeable in the beginning of Selene of Doomsday. She lives in an alley and has amnesia, so she has no idea where she came from, and she’s insecure about that, which adds to some of that harshness. But by the end of the novel, she softens up and is more caring and compassionate. Yet again, she’s still sort of tough by the end of the novel.

Will there be a sequel?

I have some vague ideas, but it depends on how this first one ends.

Would you consider yourself more of a plotter or a pantser?

Definitely a pantser.

Do you just grab a plot bunny and write away, or are there things you want to know before you start writing?

I grab the plot bunny, then sit down for about ten minutes and make a brief outline that I end up ignoring when I actually write. I usually need to know what drives the characters to make the decisions they make that effect the plot, but that’s normally the only thing. I’m trying to become more of a plotter, though.

What are your goals as a writer?

Well, first off to become published and well-known, which I think might be every writerโ€™s goals. Second off, too create original and enjoyable stories that break stereotypes and clichรฉs but aren’t that weird.

Do you have any goals as a blogger?

To write enjoyable posts and attract a wide range of followers.

What was the first book you ever wrote?

[I wrote a] short, 11,000 word novel called Mermaids when I was [around nine years old that was] about mermaids on the coast of South Carolina. It remains unpublished.

Do you think a version of Mermaids ever will be published?

Actually, for November’s NaNoWriMo, I’m taking some of the characters from Mermaids and rewrite it, while changing parts of the plot and whatnot. Its title is Where Sophie Swam, and I’m thinking about publishing, but will look more into it after NaNoWriMo.

If you ever try to publish, do you think you’ll try to do it traditionally? Or will you just start by self-publishing?

I think I might send a draft into a small publishing company that’s local to my state (and I can’t remember off the tip of my tongue) or self publish.

What’s your biggest challenge as a writer?

Probably making my sentences flow smoothly, and finding synonyms for the words โ€œsaidโ€ and โ€œasked.โ€ Oh, yeah, and writerโ€™s block. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Is there anything in particular you do to try to help with writer’s block?

I hit shuffle on my iPod playlist and wrote a story inspired by whatever song comes on. I learned this could be quite difficult if I shuffled all music, because I have a lot of electronic remixes and movie soundtracks & scores and instrumental world music, so I have a playlist of about 200 songs or so set aside just for writers block.

Music inspires me, too. What have you been listening to most, lately?

I’m really into the Lumineer’s new single Ophelia and Helio Sequence’s October but some songs that remain on my “Top 25 Most Played” list are Feist’s “I feel it all”, Rouge Wave’s “Lake Michigan” and pretty much every owl city song. Some movie soundtracks I’m a fan of are “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty” soundtrack, “The Book of Life” soundtrack and the majority of Disney Musicals.

Do you have any pets?

Yes! I have a 4 year old cat named Arlene and a 14 year old dog named Reba.

Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate for the win!

Pen or pencil?

Pen!

Favorite color?

Sky blue.

Dogs or cats? (hard one, I know …)

Oh, gosh โ€ฆ Cats are a good animal to pet while youโ€™re curled up reading a good book, but dogs are a good animal to get lost in the woods with for 4 hours (that was taken from personal experience).

Reading or writing?

Um โ€ฆ that’s harsh. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I guess reading, because I like seeing what other people’s imagination produces. Plus, when it comes to writing, you don’t really find yourself gasping when XYZ betrays your intrepid band of heroes because you already planned that out. Although, I do love writing! ๐Ÿ™‚

I could never have made that choice! I’d have had to say “both.” ๐Ÿ˜€

Do you have any last words closing thoughts?

Oh gee, this is been so fun. Thanks for interviewing me! ๐Ÿ™‚


image

 

Rose Lawson is aย tween girl living in rural SC on her 148 acres of land with her parents, a dog named Reba, and a cat named Arlene.ย She likes writing, animation, and reading. Her favorite series is “The Chronicles of Prydain.”ย She isย an ambivert, an INTP, and a Presbyterian.

39 thoughts on “Interview with Rose Lawson

  1. Pingback: Interveiw – Writing a World

  2. Labels make me feel secure. ๐Ÿ˜„ I think that’s probably a personality type … or something like that. Maybe just a way of thinking. But now I have my safe-and-secure ambivert label, so … win/win. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s true! Because, you know, in the back of books it’s always like “So-and-so lives in This City with their three children, two sneaky cats, and one very loveable and friendly dog” like the pets are more important than the children… It always makes me laugh a little when I see that.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha, that’s funny. Since I’m so heavily sarcastic and my friends aren’t, I’m usually the one who says things like, “Wait, really?” and they just give me this look and go, “No,” like it was obvious. (It wasn’t.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s also kind of funny/awkward when someone’s being sarcastic, and then someone is sarcastic back, but the first person is like, “Wait, I was being sarcastic,” and then the other person has to explain that they were being sarcastic too.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s actually an ongoing joke with me and my friends … I know, it’s kind of weird, but we’re always calling each other crazy and saying stupid things like, “Crazy and proud.” ๐Ÿ˜„ I’m so weird when I’m with friends …

    Like

  7. Nah, it’s okay, my friends call each other crazy too. I mean, if you took all that we said out of context and without sarcasm, we’d probably be seen as mass murderers with evil plans and stuff, so I guess we are actually crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It’s so true, though! Especially if I talk about my writing: “Oh yeah, I killed someone today. Actually, three people. It was so much fun and everyone else is really sad and it’s great.”

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yep, I know what you mean! And I’m constantly telling my friends that my mom killed Hazel; it wasn’t me; I was got convicted for it, but it wasn’t me!” ๐Ÿ˜„

    Like

  10. Meh, don’t be worried. I once calculated how many people I killed and it was a lot of people, even if you don’t count that story where I killed like 98% of the population of Earth…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

