Excerpt from Chapter Three

The Dressmaker's Secret

Good afternoon!

Today I’ve decided to post a brief excerpt from The Dressmaker’s Secret. ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s a small portion of Chapter Three which I recently polished to further *sarcastic voice* “perfection.” ๐Ÿ˜‰ย I’m rather proud of it, actually, since I spent a good hour trying to improve it.

I hope you enjoy it (if you haven’t already).


 

The next evening Miss Chattoway and Nettie entered Alice and Ivyโ€™s bedroom. Miss Christina was closing a storybook and the girls were begging for โ€˜just one more story.โ€™

โ€œI suppose thereโ€™s time,โ€ Miss Christina considered, glancing at the small gold watch pinned to her bodice.

โ€œYes, there is,โ€ Miss Chattoway firmly agreed, โ€œBut Iโ€™ll tell the last story. Would that suit?โ€

The girls immediately agreed.

โ€œChristy, Nettie, would you leave us?โ€ she asked as she pulled Ivy up onto her lap. After the two had departed, Alice curled up with her chin resting on her motherโ€™s knee and passed the storybook to her.

โ€œNo, not these stories,โ€ Miss Chattoway murmured. โ€œInstead I am going to tell you a true story. Would you like that?โ€

โ€œYes,โ€ said Alice and Ivy, neither at all surprised as their mother occasionally told them exploits from her childhood.

โ€œAlice, Ivy โ€ฆ would you like me to tell you a little about your father?โ€

Both girls froze; Alice from shock, Ivy from wonderment. They were silent for a moment, then Alice whispered, โ€œYes!โ€ in an excited, urgent way.

โ€œThen I will tell you something about him,โ€ Miss Chattoway said quietly, then after a pause, โ€œWhat would you like most to know?โ€

โ€œDoes he love us?โ€ Ivy asked promptly. Being loved was Ivyโ€™s highest priority at all times.

Miss Chattoway hesitated, but at last murmured, โ€œYes, I think if things had been different, he would have loved you very dearly. He … he loved little children; he liked playing with them and talking to them. He would have thought you were both very beautiful and been very proud. What else would you like to know?โ€

โ€œWhat did he look and act like?โ€ Alice questioned, beginning to twist her hair about her finger.

Miss Chattowayโ€™s voice became soft and her eyes faraway. โ€œHe was tall, a few inches over six feet perhaps. He had kind eyes and a bright, cheery smile. He was a gentleman; always ready to lend a helping hand where needed.โ€

โ€œWhere is he now?โ€ Alice asked in the following silence.

Miss Chattoway hesitated. โ€œI donโ€™t know. The boy I once knew is gone forever; that much, Iโ€™m sure of.โ€

โ€œWas it love at first sight?โ€ Alice whispered, eyes on her motherโ€™s wistful face.

โ€œNo, not at all. I had to get to know him before I could care for him. Besides, there were some serious objections to be overcome. I knew my parents wouldnโ€™t approve.โ€ Miss Chattoway sighed. โ€œTime for bed, girls.โ€

โ€œOne more question?โ€ Alice begged.

โ€œVery well,โ€ Miss Chattoway conceded.

โ€œDo you still love our father?โ€

โ€œNo, not at all. He killed that in me long ago.โ€ She replied, standing and leading her daughters to their beds. โ€œBut you spoke as if you do still love him,โ€ Alice protested.

โ€œI cared for him once, but that was a long time ago,โ€ Miss Chattoway replied. โ€œNow say your prayers quickly and get into bed.โ€

After giving her children a kiss and seeing them tucked warmly under their covers, Miss Chattoway went away. She tried desperately not to think about him, but her unruly mind kept wondering back to the man she loved โ€“ or had loved, as was her claim.

She was very quiet for the rest of the evening, barely touching her food at dinnertime and then sitting languidly in a corner of the parlor while her brother and sister chatted. She was even quieter when Nettie came up for their accustomed talk.

When she went to bed that night, she managed to fall asleep despite her whirling brain, and when she rose the following morning, she was happier than usual.

This was her life, her little world inside the real one. She would find a way to be content.


Well, what did you think? ๐Ÿ™‚

~Kellyn Roth

p.s. For those of you who have read The Dressmaker’s Secret, it would be amazing if you posted an review on Amazon. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy … just a couple sentences giving your honest opinion. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you so much! ~K.

35 thoughts on “Excerpt from Chapter Three

  1. I really love the new “more nearly perfect” edition. ๐Ÿ˜€
    I think you’ve improved it a lot, and I can’t wait to read more of the improved book!
    I’m still currently annotating my edition, but I’ll send you my notes when I’m finished. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ya KELLYN, I feel weird calling you kellyn, too! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Love this new version of chapter chapter 3! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    (ps. I didn’t actually really read it)
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kay, I read it!!
    Its so polished I can see my reflection in it!
    Oh no wait, that’s just my reflection in the laptop screen. Sorry.

    Haha jk! It really is better, kell! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ๐Ÿ™‚ That would be awesome. It’s already available on paperback, but I wouldn’t advise buying it as it is now. I haven’t added in all the “polishing” I’ve done yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. I dont think the crash pink is too much ๐Ÿ™‚
    (but, ya know, I also spent a year in complete neon clothing, so don’t take my avice when it comes to color *wink wink*;)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. nice! I had two; neon green and bubblegum pink jeans….

    Ya, those were the days when all we needed was, like, one pair of jeans(that were too short) and one tee-shirt.
    Come to think of it, I still have only one pair of jeans….I guess those days are still here lol!;)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LALALALA I’m not letting my eyes read this LALALALA even though it probobaly doesn’t spoil anything LALALALA and yes I know there is nothing TO hear, but still LALALALA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

