Excerpt from At Her Fingertips

At Her Fingertips

I had a sleepover with a friend and while she was here we (me, in other words) wrote an ‘excerpt’ from At Her Fingertips (The Chronicles of Alice and Ivy, Book 3). I know … I’m not supposed to be writing that one until next year. 🙂

Excerpt from “At Her Fingertips” by Kellyn Roth

“Is something wrong?” Peter asked, sitting on the bench next to her.

“It seems like everything I touch shatters,” Alice mumbled, hastily wiping her eyes with her handkerchief.

Peter rubbed his chin thoughtfully. “Some days are like that.”

“Yes, but not some years!”

Peter laughed. “Some years, too! I’ve had those kind of years where nothing goes right.”

“But not ‘nothing’ for just me. ‘Nothing’ for everyone else … all the people I care about! I don’t think I’ve a friend left in the world.”

“You don’t think everyone would desert you so easily, did you?” he asked. “I don’t think family gives up on family until they’re hopeless … and you’re not hopeless. You’re not hopeless until you’re dead … and even then you’re not unless you made the wrong decision at the very last moment. What are you crying about now? Just everything or has anything specific put you over the edge?”

“The … edge?”

“An expression.”

“Americans have a lot of expressions.”

“English are good at avoiding questions without seeming to.”

“Good point. Well … I suppose all this trouble with Kirk … has been especially hard … and I’ve loved him all my life … but, in the name of all things holy, not like that!”

“Poor kid,” muttered Peter.

“What about me?” Alice asked. “How was I supposed to know that he thought I thought … I don’t think I’m to blame, do you?”

“Depends on the way you handled it. If you encouraged him, then it is all your fault, whether you knew it or not at the time. Whether you know it or not now, actually. If he came up with the idea that you were in love with him without your giving him any encouragement, then you’re faultless.”

“I suppose I’m to blame. I never made it clear that we were just friends … well, more than friends. Close as brother and sister. Still, he came up with a lot without my doing or saying anything that might make him think …!”

“Yes, that’s usually how it is in these cases. They’re not so rare. Childhood friends of the opposite sex are expected to grow up and become lovers. However, one or the other (if not both) are often opposed to this, and then the trouble starts.”

“So what should I do?”

“Erase your scribbles – or better yet throw away the paper – and start drawing from the beginning.”

Interesting, right? I wasn’t exactly sure how I felt about it in the morning … is it the wanderings of a girl’s sleep-deprived mind or a small segment of a great masterpiece? 😉 Whatever it is, I had fun writing it.

~Kellyn Roth

4 thoughts on “Excerpt from At Her Fingertips

  1. Wonderful!
    I swear I’ve seen it, though, somewhere else … hmmm … oh, I know!
    I was that awesome friend who spent the night that you were talking about, right, Kell!?
    😉 😉 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

